Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Calgary second coldest place on Earth

Don't blame Calgarians for grumbling about the weather. Calgary is the second-coldest place on earth.
At least, that's what wx-now.com, a global weather watch, was claiming at 11 a.m. Tuesday.
The website reported a temperature of -27 F (or about -33 C) at the Springbank Airport at 10:57 a.m. Tuesday
The only place colder – anywhere – was the Amundsen-Scott South Pole Station in Antarctica, where it was -36 F (or -38 C), according to wx-now.com.
The weather- and astronomy-tracking website is operated by Inner Drive Technology, a Chicago-based developer of custom software applications.
A little closer to home, Environment Canada forecasts a high in Calgary of -20 C for Tuesday – we'll take it – and an overnight low of -26 C.
As a result of the deep freeze, paramedics say they’ve been responding to a recent spike in medical calls. A growing number of homeless individuals have frostbite and hypothermia because of exposure to the elements.
EMS say given the outside temperatures, it doesn’t take long for any unprotected skin to suffer in the frigid weather.
“With air temperatures well into the low twenties, even minus thirty without windchill, frostbite sets in within minutes; less than that. Any exposed skin will show superficial and left untreated will develop to deeper frostbite,” says Stuart Brideaux, EMS.
Stuart says it’s important to be prepared by anticipating weather changes. Even if you can stay warm inside your vehicle, if you find yourself in an accident you may be out in the elements without warning.
Temperatures should improve through the rest of the week in Calgary. Environment Canada predicts highs of -13 C Wednesday, - 5 C Thursday, and 1 C Friday.
By the way, the forecast highs for the rest of the week in Iqaluit are 2 C Wednesday, zero Thursday, and 1 C Friday. Book your vacation now.

With files from the Calgary Herald and Global News

Coldest places in the world


Place name
Flight conditions
Local time
South Pole, Antarctica
Amundsen-Scott South Pole Station (9110 mi. S)
few clouds
-36°F  
8 mph
ESE  
VMC
4:28 PM UTC
(2:50 PM)
Calgary, Alb.
Springbank Apt (1408.8 mi. NW)
few clouds
-31°F  
5 mph
NW  
VMC
9:28 AM MST
(8:00 AM)
Edmonton, Alb.
Edmonton Intl. Apt. (1428.4 mi. NW)
few clouds
-29°F  
7 mph
S  
VMC
9:28 AM MST
(8:00 AM)
Red Deer, Alb.
Red Deer (1412.8 mi. NW)
few clouds
-27°F  
2 mph
SSW  
VMC
9:28 AM MST
(8:00 AM)
Kindersley, Sask.
Kindersley (1208.5 mi. NW)
broken clouds
-26°F  
5 mph
NNW  
VMC
10:28 AM CST
(9:00 AM)
Edson, Alb.
Edson (1546 mi. NW)
Sky clear
-24°F  
6 mph
W  
VMC
9:28 AM MST
(8:00 AM)
Whitecourt, Alb.
Whitecourt (1533.8 mi. NW)
Sky clear
-24°F  
5 mph
WSW  
VMC
9:28 AM MST
(8:00 AM)
Dawson Creek Airport, B.C.
Dawson Creek Airport (1736.1 mi. NW)
Sky clear
-22°F  
2 mph
vrb  
IMC
haze
8:28 AM PST
(7:52 AM)
Fort Simpson, N.T.
Fort Simpson (1942.3 mi. NNW)
few clouds
-22°F  
calm  
VMC
4:28 PM WET
(3:00 PM)
Grande Prairie, Alb.
Grande Prairie (1674.9 mi. NW)
few clouds
-22°F  
calm  
VMC
9:28 AM MST
(8:00 AM)